RSS

The Lightkeeper’s Daughter by Colleen Coble

02 Jan

Title: The Lightkeeper’s Daughter (A Mercy Falls Novel)

Author: Colleen Coble

Publisher: Thomas Nelson 2009

Genre: Historical Fiction; Christian; Romance

Pages: 306

Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Reading Challenges: Historical Fiction; A to Z Authors: C; Support Your Local Library

I read a lot of Christian historical fiction.  It’s quick, easy, and guaranteed to have a good message.  Unfortunately, a lot of the genre falls into a very formulaic structure.  By the end, I often want to chew my arm off because of the predictability.

That being said, The Lightkeeper’s Daughter was a refreshing change.  Maybe it was because the characters weren’t stereotypes of people.  Maybe because the writing, specifically the dialogue, didn’t seem forced and from an 8th grader.  Maybe because the story had many twists and turns to which I didn’t know who was the villain.  Maybe because the story was saved from being overly sermonized (is that a word?, it is now); the Christian message was still there, but subtle.

Whatever the reason, I enjoyed the book immensely.  I found out there was another book released in the Mercy Falls series.  Of course, I ran to the library to get that one too.  It’s next on my reading list: The Lightkeeper’s Bride. I give The Lightkeeper’s Daughter 4 out of 5 stars.  I definitely recommend to anyone loving mysteries with a bit of romance and without all the sex and violence of my other authors.  Enjoy reading!  And don’t worry I won’t give away the ending. You just have to find that out for yourselves.

Mercy Falls

  1. The Lightkeeper’s Daughter
  2. The Lightkeeper’s Bride
  3. The Lightkeeper’s Ball

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 2, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “The Lightkeeper’s Daughter by Colleen Coble

Leave a Reply

 
