RSS

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

18 Jul

Title: Ender’s Game

Author: Orson Scott Card

Publisher: Starscape 2002

Genre: Science Fiction

Pages: 324

Rating:   5 / 5 stars

Reading Challenges: Science Fiction; 2011- With a Twist

My first recommendation from J for science fiction was a success.  The story was inventive (at least for me).  The characters were interesting.  The setting was gorgeously described and constructed.

The entire story seemed familiar to me through the book.  When I mentioned it, J said that it was the beginnings of the world from Stormship Troopers… ahhh that ‘s makes sense now.  I could see the similarities in the worlds.  But this one focuses on a boy, his siblings, and the search for a fleet commander.  The story progresses slowly, but it’s interesting.  I usually like faster moving plots.  This one covers almost 5 years of Ender Wiggins’ life.  We see his home life.  We see his traveling to BattleSchool.  We see his trials at BattleSchool.  And we see his entrance into the next steps of his training.  Although I never completely agreed with Ender’s actions, he was a very interesting character.  I loved his contradictions and struggles.  It was hard to remember that he was a little boy.  He seemed to be at least in his teens.  Very strange how Card writes a character so young, yet with a soul and mind so old.  Definitely an interesting combination.

Good choice for book selection.  Stumped as what to read next.

Ender Wiggin
1. Ender’s Game
2. Speaker for the Dead
3. Xenocide
4. Children of the Mind
5. A War of Gifts
6. Ender in Exile

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

  1. Patrick

    August 1, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I just finished this book. Loved it. Great moral dilemmas that really made me think. I too would not have made many of the choices that Ender made, but that just means that if I were in his place I would have likely been Iced or killed. Even though I didn’t like some of his choices I couldn’t find fault with his logic- he did what he did for the right reasons. As Valentine said, he never did anything he should be ashamed of. When it’s life or death and the human race is at stake- he did nothing he should be ashamed of.

    To me, he was convincingly portrayed as a highly intelligent little child who was forced into the grown-up world of space warfare by grown-ups who knew it was wrong but felt that they had no choice. If I had thought of him as a teenager this book would not have been near as emotional for me as it was. Perhaps Card manipulated me as well as the grown-ups manipulated Ender, but over all I really enjoyed this book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
