RSS

Card Making Fun!

22 Sep

I went to my first official class as member of the Bellevue Stampers!  I am so excited about being a part of the club.  We have a nice small group of six people and everyone is so nice.  They might be a bit older than me, but they’re lovely ladies.  

This week we made another three cards. First up was a pretty fallish card with falling leaves.  I am so bad when it comes to ideas that I didn’t even think of using a simple stencil to make the circles of colors.  It’s such a nice, clean design.  I’m thinking about using this idea for Christmas cards (ornaments?).  Second, we made a cute Halloween card.  Unfortunately, I don’t send cards for Halloween (or haven’t in the past), so I don’t know if I’ll be making this again.  But I do like the layering of paper and patterns.  You can’t really tell from the photo, but the black paper is embossed with a spider web.  Very cute effect up close.  Finally, we tackled our technic card.  The background card is embossed with grass.  The white piece was then embossed clear with a grass and butterfly stamp.  We then mixed ink into a swirly design in a layer of shaving cream, plopped the card facedown, and then wiped the excess off.  Of all the cards, mine had the darkest colors.  But I love it all the more for it!  It created a beautiful tie dye pattern under the grass and butterfly.  To finish we add a vellum punched out butterfly with small beads.  I love this card!  We all remarked that while it was messy to do one, we could fill a shallow baking sheet with shaving cream and do many at one time.  This card could work well for birthdays, sympathy, Mother’s Day, thank yous, or get well.  I love how versatile it is.

I made my first order through Stampin’ Up.  It’s due to arrive sometime early next week.  I’m thinking that I should start thinking about Christmas cards.  What colors do I want?  Any particular stamps/designs I want?  What about techniques?  So many possibilities…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2011 in Crafting

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Card Making Fun!

  1. Darla

    September 22, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Glad to hear you have a great group of ladies to stamp with. There are sooooo many choices believe me. If you ever have questions shoot me an email or FB message. I’d be glad to help. 🙂

    Darla

     
  2. Tobe

    September 22, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Thanks Darla! I will if something comes up… right now contemplating Christmas designs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
