RSS

Fables: The Dark Ages

13 Dec


Title:
Fables Vol. 12: The Dark Ages

Author: Bill Willingham

Publisher: Vertigo 2009

Genre: Graphic Novel; Fantasy

Pages: 192

Rating: 5  / 5 stars

Reading Challenges: Fables Series

Tourists of the world unite! If you’ve ever craved a guided tour of Fabletown’s secret Manhattan location, prepare to be voraciously satiated. Pinnochio has a field day taking a certain VIP around the city. And exactly which Fabletown denizens are no longer active (dead, alive or otherwise) just might shock you into a comic book coma. Also in this volume, you’ll find the 4-part story featuring Freddy and Mouse, two local rogues who just want to get along and perhaps turn a bit of profit in the post-war, topsy-turvy world. Meanwhile, in Fabletown, a new political group forms called the Society of Seconds, and what they want doesn’t seem very reasonable at all.
First of all, look at that cover!  It is gorgeous!  I was mesmerized by the cover for at least 10 minutes without even starting the volume.  But don’t worry, once I got into the volume I most heartily enjoyed that as well.  Such twists and turns.  I’ve come to expect surprises with every Fables volume, but this one really got me.  I admit it, I teared up with Boy Blue’s story.  I wanted to smack Rose Red.  I championed Bigby and Frau’s attempts to save Fabletown.  And I tried to hide myself away from Mr. Dark.  The art continues to be more and more intricate and beautiful.  I can’t wait until tomorrow when I can start the next volume!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Fables: The Dark Ages

Leave a Reply

 
