RSS

Jack of Fables: The End

06 Jan

Title: Jack of Fables Vol. 9: The End

Author: Bill Willingham

Publisher: Vertigo 2011

Genre: Graphic Novel; Fantasy

Pages: 144

Rating: 4  / 5 stars

Reading Challenges: Fables Series; Name – E; My Years – 2011; Support Your Local Library

Jack Frost seeks to kill a dragon, unaware that it’s his own father. Jack Frost has just set upon the greatest quest in a long and distinguished career of great quests: To kill a dragon. Of course, he is not aware that the dragon in question is in fact his own father. Meanwhile, the Page Sisters find a new purpose in life: restoring the Great Library. This volume includes JACK OF FABLES #50, a special issue that includes appearances by everyone who’s ever shown up in the series.
As much as I loved the Jack of Fables series, towards the end I was just kinda done with it.  It was good, don’t get my wrong, I just wasn’t on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happened.  I didn’t get sucked into the world within the pages.  Something just wasn’t magical enough for me.  I continue to read the main Fables series and love all the volumes.  Jack just became a tiresome character and I never really got into his son, Jack Frost.  I was ready to find out the ending.  And boy was it an ending.  As the volume notes, they went Shakespearean with the ending.  Crazy stuff!  Overall, a good read, just not great.
Jack of Fables:

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Jack of Fables: The End

Leave a Reply

 
