RSS

Mythology by Edith Hamilton

27 Nov

Title: Mythology

Author: Edith Hamilton

Publisher: Little, Brown, and Company 1942

Genre: Mythology

Pages: 352

Rating:   4/5 stars

Reading Challenges: Telling Tales; Mount TBR; Fall into Reading

How I Got It: I own it!

Since its original publication by Little, Brown & Company in 1942, this author’s Mythology has sold millions of copies throughout the world & established itself as a perennial bestseller in its various available formats: hardcover, trade paperback, & mass market paperback. Mythology succeeds like no other book in bringing to life for the modern readeer the Greek, Roman & Norse myths & legends that are the keystone of Western culture – the stories of gods & heroes that have inspired human creativity from antiquity to the present.

This is definitely a book I’ve been meaning to read for years.  Years, I tell you!  And finally I got around to it.  The book did not disappoint.  Hamilton’s tome is the definitive source for Greek and Roman myths.  Unfortunately, at times the prose becomes a bit convoluted.  Maybe it’s just the time period the book was written.  I found myself skipping the commentary passages to get to the stories.  Those I loved!  That said, I wanted an actual commentary on some of the stories; maybe more history on the stories.  At any rate, I did enjoy my time reading through the stories.  After reading, I had the urge to watch a good movie based off of the stories, but unfortunately there aren’t many.  Maybe I should just watch a cheesy version…  like Clash of the Titans.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Mythology by Edith Hamilton

Leave a comment